Boland Landbou breaks Oakdale hearts with last-gasp try

Boland Landbou kept their cool under pressure to secure a memorable 17-11 victory against rivals Oakdale Landbou in a Sportsmans Warehouse Premier Interschools clash in Riversdale on Saturday, August 19.

Boland Landbou hooker, Cilliers Viljoen, was the hero for his side as he scored the winning try with the final move of the game, three minutes after the hooter had already sounded.

There were scenes of delirium as the Boland Landbou supporters flooded the field to celebrate the winning moment, before the conversion could be taken.

Overall, it was a physical clash between the two rivals which could have gone either way. It was tit-for-tat for the entire 70 minutes as both teams put everything on the line in their final match of the season.

Oakdale made the perfect start to the match when they opened the scoring after three minutes. Fly-half, Zandre Conradie slotted a penalty to get the home crowd cheering.

It was a thunderous first 15 minutes with both sides enjoying equal possession and territory. Boland Landbou’s forward pack was especially impressive, but could not translate pressure into points.

A moment of individual brilliance from Oakdale left-wing and Therlow Prins, had the crowd on their feet, as the hosts scored the first try of the match.

The SWD Craven Week star chipped the ball over the defenders before collecting his own kick and dotting down for the try to extend the lead to 8-0 for Oakdale.

Boland Landbou outside centre, Ruan Jongsma, was a constant threat in attack with his runs putting the Oakdale defence under pressure.

In the same breath, Oakdale’s inside centre, Kurt Coetzee, also threatened with his battering ram runs.

The boys in black had an opportunity to get on the scoresheet with a penalty on 25 minutes in a kickable position, but number 10, Retagan van Rooi, dragged his effort.

Boland Landbou had a chance to make the most of a numeric advantage when Oakdale lock, Hanre Jubelius, was sent to the sin bin for playing his opponent in the air.

Van Rooi finally got the visitors on the scoreboard with a penalty to make it 8-3 at half-time.

This seemed to ignite Boland Landbou as they started the second-half with purpose on attack. Oakdale’s defence stood firm as they smothered the opposition in the Riverdale sunshine.

Oakdale Landbou had an opportunity to add three points to their lead in the 47th minute, but they opted to take a quick tap instead. This was detrimental to the hosts as the boys from Paarl stood firm under immense pressure to snuff out the attack.

The discipline in defence was just the tonic that Boland Landbou needed, as they soon found themselves in the Oakdale 22. This time, they made the most of the possession as a sharp run and off-load from Van Rooi put inside centre and captain, Albie Bester in for the visitors’ first try. Van Rooi converted to give Boland Landbou the lead for the first time at 10-8.

This lead was almost nullified immediately, as Conradie had a chance to put Oakdale in front with a long-range penalty. His effort though, just did not have the legs and Boland Landbou could breathe a sigh of relief.

Oakdale though would not be denied when Conradie slotted a penalty in the final minute of the match to make it 11-10.

The hosts and 90 per cent of the home crowd thought they had the victory in the bag, but Boland Landbou were relentless and kept the pressure on to score in the 73rd minute. Superb discipline and a constant barrage of phases saw Cilliers Viljoen drive over for the winning try.

Photo: Therlow Prins scores a try for Oakdale image, Ashley Vlotman (Gallo Images)

Sportsmans Warehouse Man of the Match: Kurt Coetzee, Oakdale Landbou


For Hoër Landbouskool Oakdale 11 (8)

Tries: Therlow Prins

Pens: Zandre Conradie (2)

Yellow cards: Hanre Jubelius

For Hoër Landbouskool Boland 17 (3)

Tries: Albie Bester, Cilliers Viljoen

Cons: Retagan van Rooi (2)

Pens: Retagan van Rooi


Hoër Landbouskool Oakdale

  1. Waylon Kortjie, 14. Duraan Janse van Rensburg, 13. Louis Fourie, 12. Kurt Coetzee, 11. Therlow Prins, 10. Zandre Conradie 9. Tian Ferreira, 8. Erick Steyn, 7. Migail Barnard, 6. Hanno Louw, 5. Roy Viljoen, 4. Hanre Jubelius, 3. Devon Windvogel, 2. JC van Wyk, 1. Marco Steyn.

Hoër Landbouskool Boland

  1. Dewald de Villiers, 14. Wehan Lume, 13. Ruan Jongsma, 12. Albie Bester, 11. Enslin Claasen, 10. Retagan van Rooi, 9. Turlon Adams, 8. AJ van der Merwe, 7. Alru Gous, 6. Hans Verster, 5. Ruan Viviers, 4. Karst Smits, 3. Pieter de Jager, 2. Cilliers Viljoen, 1. Christoff Etzebeth.


Related Post