CSA and BCCI announce schedule for multi-format tour against India

Cricket South Africa (CSA) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have today confirmed the schedule for India’s multi-format tour of South Africa.


The two teams will contest three KFC T20 Internationals (T20Is), three Betway One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and two Betway Tests from 10 December – 07 January across multiple venues.


The KFC T20I series starts on Sunday, 10 December at Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium in Durban. The second and third T20Is will follow at St George’s Park and DP World Wanderers Stadium on Tuesday, 12 December, and Thursday, 14 December, respectively.


DP World Wanderers Stadium will then host the Betway Pink Day ODI on Sunday, 17 December in Johannesburg, before the sides head back to Gqeberha for the second ODI on Tuesday, 19 December. The final match of the series will be played at Boland Park in Paarl on Thursday, 21 December.


The Freedom Series, which honours two global icons in Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi, gets underway with the Boxing Day Test at SuperSport Park from 26 – 30 December. The highly-anticipated tour will conclude with the New Year’s Test at Newlands Cricket Ground from 03 – 07 January.


CSA Chairperson Lawson Naidoo said: “Cricket South Africa eagerly awaits the arrival of the Indian Cricket Team and their passionate fans on our shores. This is an important tour for both teams and I am really pleased that we will have a full tour comprising all three formats of the game. Both South Africa and India boast exceptional talent, and we can look forward to exciting cricket and thrilling matches.


“The tour also allows us to showcase the best of South Africa and we have spread out matches across the nation. We share an excellent rapport with the BCCI and I thank them for their support throughout the process of putting the tour in place.”


Honorary Secretary of the BCCI Jay Shah added: “The Freedom Series is significant not just because it features two excellent Test teams, but also because it honours Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela, two great leaders who shaped our respective nations, and the world around them.


“The Boxing Day Test and the New Year’s Test are amongst the most important fixtures on the international cricket calendar and the schedule has been planned particularly around these marquee dates. India has always received strong support in South Africa, and I am confident that fans will be treated to some enthralling contests with no shortage of intensity.”


South Africa Inbound Tour against India


KFC T20I Series


Sunday, 10 December

South Africa vs India – Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium, Durban


Tuesday, 12 December

South Africa vs India – St George’s Park, Gqeberha


Thursday, 14 December

South Africa vs India – DP World Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


Betway ODI Series


Sunday, 17 December – Betway Pink Day

South Africa vs India –  DP World Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


Tuesday, 19 December

South Africa vs India – St George’s Park, Gqeberha


Thursday, 21 December

South Africa vs India –  Boland Park, Paarl


Betway Test Series


26 December – 30 December

South Africa vs India – SuperSport Park, Centurion


03 January – 07 January 

South Africa vs India – Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.