UCT earn first victory of Varsity Women’s Football 2017

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

The University of Cape Town (UCT) bagged a 1-0 victory over the Central University of Technology on day two of this year’s Varsity Women’s Football tournament on Friday morning in Potchefstroom.

From the first blow of the whistle it was UCT who showed attacking play as they put CUT on the back foot. In the 13th minute of the game Wendy Mbeje from UCT scored a goal to open the scoreboard at 1-0 for her team.

The women of CUT had a few opportunities to pull themselves back into the game but it was a well-drilled UCT side who dominated the first half as they took the lead 1-0 into halftime.

CUT looked stronger after the break as they put the opponents under pressure but star player Emelia Aggouras from UCT showed brilliant individual attacking play. Despite her efforts UCT could not support her to finish off the match.

Aggouras’ team still maintained the momentum till the end and secured a first victory for UCT.

FNB Player of the Match:
Nina Woermann (UCT)
Samsung Best Shot Award: Wendy Mbeje (UCT)

UCT: 1
Wendy Mbeje

CUT: 0

1. Gcina Panyana, 2. Nonjabulo Mavimbela, 3. Shalom Chitanda, 4. Kateko Pule, 5. Jaime Newdigate, 6. Nina Woermann, 7. Alexandra Houston, 8. Mwana Mwale, 9. Emelia Aggouras, 10. Wendy Mbeje, 11. Sydney May.
12. Gretta Sundayihebura, 13. Ntokozo Gcwensa, 14. Paige Orlik, 15. Anna Kaplan, 16. Tasneem Arend.

CUT: 1. Lucrecia Manis, 2. Lettie Khumalo, 3. Pulane Nzapesa, 4. Refilwe Thue, 5. Mpho Sesedinyane, 6. Nolwaszi Shongwe, 7. Tshepiso Nkopane, 8. Puleng Rapuleng, 9. Sophy Malete, 10. Dineo Mothabe, 11. Nkamogeleng Mdekesha.
12. Keamogetswe Mabote, 13. Vangile Gumede, 14. Mametsing Borole, 15. Refilwe Leeuw, 16. Yamkela Setsipane, 17. Beatrice Makaudi, 18. Mosa Ramohlakoane.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply