TUT start off title defence with convincing 3-0 win against UCT

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

The defending champions Tshwane University of Technology got their Varsity Women’s Football title defence off to an immaculate start with a crushing 3-0 victory against UCT in Group A in the opening match of the 2017 Varsity Women’s Football tournament on Thursday evening.

TUT came out of the blocks early, mainly through finding open space on the right-hand side of the field. Right winger, Salome Dikgale, threatened early and created problems for the UCT defence which led to captain Kgomotso Mashiloane firing in the first goal from just outside the box. It was soon 2-0 to the defending champions as Katlego Khwinana doubled the advantage.

Kwhinana then fired a bullet of a shot that gave UCT keeper Panyana no chance, to increase the lead to 3-0. The ball dipped over Panyana and rebounded in from the underside of the cross bar – a shot that would have left any keeper beaten.

TUT ruled possession in the first half and never gave their less fancied opponents any chance back into the game. At half time TUT were in full control with the score at 3-0.

UCT had a chance early on in the second half but Aaqilah Alfreds ran out of partners as the defensive pairing of Salome Kekana and Nokwanda Shabangu kept her at bay.

TUT had numerous chances to increase their lead but UCT’s stubborn defence and goal keeping heroics from Panyana kept the scoreline respectable.

FNB Player of the Match: Katlego Khwinana (TUT)
Samsung Best Shot Award:
Katlego Khwinana (TUT)

TUT: 3
Kgomotso Mashiloane, Katlego Khwinana (2)

UCT: 0

Mpho Monangwe, Mmabatho Dire, Salome Kekana Nokwanda Shabangu, Jabulile Mazibuko,  Katlego Khwinana, Thato Matlala,  Lizzel  Mokoana, Salome Dikgale Nontokozo Zwane, Kgomotso Mashiloane
Thabile Malambe, Bontle Mashilo, Maphuthi Manamela, Letlhogonolo Maluleke, Dineo Marakalla, Paballo Lepele, Nompumelelo Tshabalala.
Gcina Panyana, Nonjabulo Mavimbela, Kateko Pule, Shalom Chitanda, Nina Woermann, Mwana Mwale, Emelia Aggouras, Alexandra Houston, Sydney May, Gretta Sindayithebura, Wendy Mbeje
Jaime Newdigate, Paige Orlik, Anna Kaplan, Tasneem Arend, Ntokozo Gwenca.

Leave a Reply