Tuks thrash UFH to make late bid for the top four


Tuks beat UFH 4-1 in Alice on Monday evening, to move to 8 points and keep their semi-final hopes alive.

With the semi-final spot not a reality for the men from Alice, the University of Fort Hare had only pride and one last show to play for, in front of their home crowd.

The men from Alice came out fired up, putting the University of Pretoria under pressure and a penalty was awarded early on. But it was to be a missed chance to secure the lead in the early moments of the match for the home team.

Not long after that, the wait for their first goal of the season was finally over. The crowd roared with pride as Sinalo Mbuzani netted the opener to put the men from Alice ahead.

But their joy was short lived as Tuks retaliated with two of their own, by Claudio de Almeida and Chnedu Okolo, to end the half with a one goal lead over the hosts.

In the second half it appeared as though UFH had given all that they could. The visitors dominated, as they added two more goal to their account to extend the lead to 4-1, thanks to Jeremiah Nkwana and Odwa Mkha.

With time and faith running out the men from Alice were out of mojo, and in the end one goal was all that they could muster in their final home game. They went down 4-1 to Tuks.

FNB Player of the Match: Lawrence Ntswane (Tuks)
Samsung Best Shot:
Jeremiah Nkwana (Tuks)

UFH: 1
Sinalo Mbuzani

Tuks: 4
Claudio De Almeida, Chnedu Okolo, Jeremiah Nkwana, Odwa Mkha

1 Luyolo Alfred Bhanya;  2 Sijongesonke Peter; 8 Manelisi Same; 23 Ndumiso Ndzama; 5 Siphamandla Vincent Zanekile; 20 Xolani Vuyani; 7 Banele Thompson; 12 Siphesihle Mandla Buthelezi; 26 Solomzi Gideon Dinga; 15 Siwongiwe Ndakaza; 11 Sinalo Mbuzani.
Subs: 24 Mthunzi Xaba; 19 Asiphe Mfecane; 16 Siphuxolo Tomase; 14 Litha Bottomane; 18 Loyiso Sesethu Jezile; 18 Loyiso Sesethu Jezile; 27 Nhlanhla Khoza.

Tuks: 1 Dalyan Hawes; 20 Katlego Motihatsang; 5 Simbogile B. Njokwe; 4 Lawrence Ntswane; 13 Pierre Kok; 15 Claudio A. De Almeida; 23 Chinedu Lawrence  Okolo; 19 Frank Singnkhi Mpedi; 7 Jurgen Darcel Booysen; 18 Sabelo Tsambo; 17 Odwa Makha.
Subs:16 Athenkosi Jojo; 10 Jeremiah Makalo Nkwana; 22 Leonel De Mendonca; 12 Simthembile Synclair Ndimande; 21 Mahlolo Clinton Mphahlele; 2 Siphesihle Sosibo; 11 Richard Mahlatse Moremi

Leave a Reply