Varsity Athletics heads to UJ Athletics Stadium

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports
Varsity Athletics 2015

Last week, Akani Simbine not only beat his personal best, but also smashed the SA 100m record, finishing in a time of 9.96 seconds. On Friday, 18 March 2016 Simbine will represent his university, UP-Tuks at this year’s Varsity Athletics meeting taking place at the UJ Athletics Stadium in Johannesburg.

The postponed first leg of the competition, which was due to take place on 4 March at Coetzenburg Stadium in Stellenbosch, is now set to take place on Thursday, 7 April at the same venue.

“We are extremely excited that both Varsity Athletics meetings will be going ahead because this is a very important year for all the athletes with the Rio Olympics taking place later in the year, and we are confident that a number of the participating athletes will qualify to represent South Africa at the Olympics, which is a pinnacle of any athlete’s career,” said Varsity Sports CEO, Duitser Bosman. “At Varsity Sports we offer student athletes the platform to be the best they can be while waving the South African flag high, and we are very proud of all their accomplishments in their various fields thus far.”

This year the event will take a new format. Instead of eight universities participating, the competition will include an additional four universities. The new format will consist of two divisions: the Top 15 (A) division which will have eight competing universities, and the Top 10 (B) division, with four competing universities.

The Top 15 (A) division follows a format where the top 15 athletes’ points from each university are counted towards the entire team’s scores, and Top 10 (B) will use the top 10 athletes’ points for each university. These points count towards the universities’ totals. The IAAF points scoring format has been adopted for the meeting.

The participating universities are:

Top 15 (A Division) Teams:

  • University of Stellenbosch (Maties)
  • University of the Western Cape (UWC)
  • University of Johannesburg (UJ)
  • North-West University of Potchefstroom (NWU-Puk)
  • University of the Free State (UFS-Kovsies)
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)
  • University of Pretoria (Tuks)
  • Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)


Top 10 (B Division) Teams:

  • University of Cape Town (UCT)
  • Central University of Technology (CUT)
  • University of Limpopo (UL)
  • Vaal University of Technology (VUT)


Tickets to the meeting are currently available via the Varsity Sports App in the Google Play and App Store. With every ticket purchased through the App, you will receive a free Wimpy coffee at the stadium.

photo: supplied

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply