Match Report: FNB UWC vs FNB Fort Hare

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports
Minenhle Mthethwa of University of Western Cape running with the ball past Akhona Matutu and Siviwe Bisset of RFC UFH Blues during 2016 FNB Varsity Shied Rugby

FNB UWC smash FNB Fort Hare 30-5 in rainy affair


The FNB UWC put FNB Fort Hare to the sword in their Varsity Shield clash as they won the encounter 30-5 in a very scrappy match in Soweto on Monday evening.

FNB UWC dominated most of possession and took an early 10-0 lead before the rain started bucketing down and turned the clash into a bit of a mess.

Handling errors started to creep in and both teams were made to work hard for the metres. FNB UWC took a 15-0 lead at half time as the rain continued. FNB UWC started the second half as the first scoring again before FNB UFH got one back. FNB UWC flyhalf, Aidynn Cupido scored his second try of the match as FNB UWC punished FNB UFH’s mistakes.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

In a moment of madness, FNB UFH flanker, Zanoxholo Qwele, received a red card for stamping an FNB UWC player on the ground. The sending off made his side more vulnerable and FNB UWC scored their sixth and final try as they won the encounter 30-5. Cupido was awarded man of the match.

FNB Player That Rocks: Aidynn Cupido (FNB UWC)



Tries: Gordan Plaatjies, Aidynn Cupido (2), Jeremy Papier, Philbrey Joseph, Minethle Mthethwa


Tries: Misibukhosi Pienaar

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports


FNB UWC: 15 Marcus Kleinbooi, 14 Minehle Mthethwa, 13 Dean Herbert, 12 Courtney Cupido, 11 Gordan Plaatjies, 10 Aidynn Cupido, 9 Clayton Daniels, 8 Matthew Faught, 7 Jeremy Papier, 6 Philbrey Joseph, 5 Brandon Valentyn, 4 Jose Julies, 3 Tahriq Allen, 2 Peter Wanjiru, 1 Wayron Losper

Replacements: 16 Keenan Douw, 17 Kelvin de Bruyn, 18 Matthew le Roux, 19 Sabelo Dlamini,  20 Darian Hock, 21 Monre Lingeveldt, 22 Lubabalo Faleni, 23 Robin Paulse

FNB UFH: 15 Akhona Matutu, 14 Zaula Siphuxolo, 13 Luyolo Batshise, 12 Mlotywa Athipila, 11 Asiphe Fihla, 10 Siviwe Bisset, 9 Misibukhosi Pienaar, 8 Athenkosi Makeleni, 7 Zanoxolo Qwele, 6 Siphesihle Phunguzwa, 5 Sibusiso Sityebi, 4 Philisani Ncoko, 3 Olwethu Mputla, 2 Justin Antonie, 1 Bulelani Mdodana

Replacements: 16 Mzingabantu Vitsha, 17 Lusindiso Nkomo, 18 Malusi Vula, 19 Qhama Masiza, 20 Lukho Jongizulu, 21 Sibongile Novuka, 22 Asiphe Fanele

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply