UP-Tuks claimed their first win

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB UP-Tuks won their first game of FNB Varsity Cup after scoring eight tries past FNB CUT to win 54–26 in Bloemfontein.

FNB UP-Tuks ran in eight tries to FNB CUT’s four in a game where the men from Pretoria were finally allowed to express themselves with ball in hand. The victory propels FNB UP-Tuks into seventh on the FNB Varsity Cup log. They leapfrog FNB Madibaz and the evening’s opposition FNB CUT and for now, escape the relegation zone and the embarrassment of going from title winners to FNB Varsity Shield contenders.

The loss means that FNB CUT are damned to eighth on the table and considering their recent form, probably means they will be contesting not to be relegated to the FNB Varsity Shield.

The men from Bloemfontein did score four tries in the clash though meaning they at least walk away with a consolation bonus point, with means they sit on six points with a three-point buffer between the last-placed FNB Madibaz. The home side scored through Joseph Karabo, Ruan Smit, Ruan Wasserman and Ruben De Haas.

The Tshwane locals were treated to a try-fest with Tyler Fisher, Ruan Nortje and FNB UP-Tuks captain Eduan Lubbe all grabbing a brace with Cameron Hufke and Marnus Potgieter getting once each.

FNB Player That Rocks: Eduan Lubbe (FNB Tuks)

Tries: Joseph Karabo, Ruan Smit, Ruan Wasserman, Ruben De Haas

Conversions: Denver Kleu (2)

 FNB UP-Tuks: 54
Tries: Tyler Fisher 2, Eduan Lubbe 2, Ruan Nortje 2, Cameron Hufke, Marnus Potgieter
Conversions: Christo Hammen 6

FNB CUT: 15 Dimitrio Tieties 14 Masego Toolo, 13 Ruan Wasserman, 12 Louis Nel, 11 Tiisetso Madonsela, 10 Denver Kleu, 9 Ruben Heymans, 8 Gerhardus Nel, 7 Ruan Smit, 6 Dean Rossouw, 5 Brendon Fortuin, 4 Sylvester Makakole, 3 Stefan van Schalkwyk, 2 Tiaan Erasmus, 1 Quintin Vorster
Subs: 16 Johannes Terblanche, 17 Raynar dEsterhuizen, 18 LW Viljoen, 19 Stefan Kruger, 20 Isiah Bila, 21 Dean Jacobs, 22 Ruben De Haas, 23 Joseph Karabo

FNB UP-Tuks: 15 Damian Boneparte, 14 Xolisa Guma, 13 Marnus Potgieter, 12 Tyler Fisher, 11 Cameron Hufke, 10 Christo Hamman, 9 Joshua Allderman, 8 Ewart Potgieter, 7 Brian Leitch, 6 Eduan Lubbe, 5 Marius Verwey, 4 Ruan Nortje, 3 Andrew Beerwinkel, 2 Cornelius Els, 1 Wesley Adonis
Subs: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Franco van den Berg, 18 Orateng Koikanyang, 19 Jacobus Smit, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Ruben Beytell, 22 Adrian Seerane, 23 Mashao Mukhari


Cameron Hufke of Tukkies during the Varsity Cup match between CUT and Tukkies at CUT Stadium, Monday 12 March 2018, Bloemfontein, 2018 Copyright Van Zyl Naude

Leave a Reply