Third term MTB racing off to a thunderous start

Run Ride Dive School-Sports

A total of 664 high school mountain bike riders competed in the second Gatueng race of the Spur Schools MTB League.  The event was hosted at Bekker High School in Magaliesburg, which will also play host to the national finals in October.

Racing began with the Sub Juniors where Miguel Moutinho of Midstream College pulled away with a 54 second lead over Christiaan Klopper of Waterkloof High School and Francois Botha of Rustenburg High School in third.  In the girls race it was Jade Slabbert also of Midstream College took line honours with Transvalia team mates Kaylin Gombos and Natalie Long finished second and third.

Youth 15 boys’ race was won by current Series leader, Hennie Van Wyk of Garsfontein High School with DJ Kruger of Transvalia taking second after an exciting sprint finish with Matthiam Hofmann of Waterkloof.  Monique du Toit of Menlopark took her second win of the Gauteng Series and extended her overall Youth 15 category lead. Robin Stewart of Waterkloof was second and Nikola von Staden of Helpmekaar College took third place.

In the Youth 16 girls race Midstream College brought home their third win for the day as well as their third leader’s jersey in the form of Thana Groenewald who amazed everyone by beating the lap times of the top junior women. Azulde Britz of Cornwall Hill College and Rimari Sutton of Garsfontein finished second and third respectively.  JP Lloyd from Zwartkop High School won the Youth 16 boys’ category and received the leader’s jersey for the first time.

The battle was on for the leader jersey in the Junior men’s race with Henry Liebenberg of Menlopark taking the overall lead in the series with his win, followed by Marc Pritzen of Kempton Park High School in second and Jason Abbot of Woodhill College in third.

Saffron Vosloo from Menlopark led from lap one in the Junior Women’s race as she opened a gap over Lynette Benson of Waterkloof High School. She managed to hold that lead during all three laps to take the win and holds on to her Junior Women’s leader jersey.

Menlopark High School are still top of the log with 242 points, followed by Afrikaans Hoër Seunsskool with 234 overall second, Midstreaam overall third with 207 points, Waterkloof in fourth with 192 points and Transvalia in 5th.  Rounding off the top ten schools on the leader board is Garsfontein High (117 points), Montana High School (99 points), Monument High School (96 points) and Zwartkop High School (93 points).

Run Ride Dive School-Sports

Spur Gauteng Leaders after Tour de Plaas

  • Junior Men: Henry Liebenberg – Menloparks HS
  • Junior Women: Saffron Vosloo – Menloparks HS
  • Youth 16 Boys: JP Lloyd – Zwartkop HS
  • Youth 16 Girls: Thana Groenewald – Midstream College
  • Youth 15 Boys: Hennie Van Wyk – Garsfontein HS
  • Youth 15 Girls: Monique Du Toit – Menlopark HS
  • Sub Junior Boys: Miguel Moutihno – Midstream College
  • Sub Junior Girls: Jade Slabbert – Midstream College
Run Ride Dive School-Sports

Leave a Reply