SA National MX Champs

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

Round 4 of the SA National MX Champs, the first event held at Syringa Park since its owner was tragically killed early this year, took place on Saturday 2 July and was a massive success.

After a little winter chill in the morning, the day soon warmed up over a fast and unforgiving track. It was hard-pack and technical and resulted in some of the best racing of the season, as well as some minor spills.

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

Sacha Naude was on fire in MX1, and pulled a huge lead in the 2nd heat, while stand out rider of the day in the premier classes was David Goosen. He was also on the podium in MX1 but entered for the first time in MX2 and took the win in that division. He was followed by a recently on-form Kerim Fitzgerald, with Anthony Raynard in third.

The MX3 division saw the return of Ryan Hunt to the winner’s podium. He placed ahead of Ian Topliss in second, while Brett Bircher came in third.

In the ladies division there was an encouraging 10 ladies who entered, and it was Nanda Clowes who edged ahead of the perennial Brittany Cuthbert, with Kayla Raaff in third.
In the 50cc class Neil van der Vyver was in top form and edged out Jordan Dewdney into second, with Jordan Van Wyk in third.

It was a combined regional and national event, with a total of 184 entries. The track manager Grant Foley put on an excellent effort, and the day was a huge success.

The next event in the Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA National MX Champs is set to take place at Thunder Valley, Maritzburg, KZN on the 6 August. For more information go to the SAMX events page.

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

Final Results Syringa

MX 1

1. Sacha Naude
2. Kerim Fitzgerald
3. David Goosen

MX 2

1. David Goosen
2. Kerim Fitzgerald
3. Anthony Raynard

MX 3

1. Ryan Hunt
2. Ian Topliss
3. Brett Bircher

Run Ride Dive Motorsport


1. Nanda Clowes
2. Brittany Cuthbert
3. Kayla Raaff

Senior Support

1. Bevan Christie
2. Mason Buist
3. Marc Leightley

MX High School

1. Marco De Vrye
2. Keegan Hickson-Mahony
3. Regan Wasmuth

MX 65cc

1. Hayden Tully
2. Blake Young
3. Daiyaan Manuel

85cc Juniors

1. Christiaan Cilliers
2. Jonathan Mlimi
3. Hayden Tully

Pro Mini

1. Cameron Durow
2. Dalton Venter
3. Camden McLellan


1. Neil van der Vyver
2. Jordan Dewdney
3. Jordan Van Wyk

Hundreds of images on Google+ and Facebook. Please tag yourself and friends.

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

Leave a Reply