Record start for 2015 Spur Schools MTB League

Run Ride Dive News

The Western Cape leg of the 2015 Spur Schools MTB League got off to a thunderous start with a record number of 530 riders attending the first race of the season. Parel Vallei High School is currently lying top of the log with 427 points, with Paul Roos second with 213 points, Montana High School in third place with 206 points and DF Malan in fourth with 174 points.

According to league co-ordinator, Meurant Botha of Amarider a strong contingent of primary school riders, more girls competing and more schools being represented was a good indicator that mountain bike riding is gaining great support as a sport of choice.

Run Ride Dive News

Botha further stated that it was especially good to see more girls competing and that more schools are being represented as the Spur Schools MTB League is particularly aimed at school teams. “We are delighted with such a strong start to the season as our record number of entries last year was 470 riders. Judging from the level of riding showed by the high school participants, we’re most definitely in for a very exciting season leading up to the national finals in October,” said Botha.

Keen mountain bike riders should not miss the second race on Saturday, 25 July at Southy Vines in Somerset-West. In order to make the league more accessible to riders, the senior (high school) categories have been moved to later time slots allowing for those that participate in mainstream school sports to fulfil their school commitments. Registration for these categories close at 13h30.

Online entry forms are downloadable at and can be faxed to 086 547 7886, e-mailed to [email protected]za or handed in at registration on race day from 08h30.

CATEGORIES / START TIME: Registration opens 08h30 and course practice commences, Sub Nippers (7-8) 09h30, Nipper Boys (9-10) 10h00, Nipper Girls (9-10) 10h05, Sprog Boys (11–12) 10h30, Sprog Girls (11 –12) 10h35, Sub-Junior Boys (13) 11h00, Sub-Junior Girls (13) 11h05, Sub-Junior Boys (14) 12h15, Youth Men B (16) 12h45, Youth Men A (15) 13h20, Girls (14-18) 14h00 and Junior Men (17-18) 14h45.

For more information on the Spur High School Mountain Bike league, follow us on @SpurMTBleague, log on to SpurSchoolsLeague on Facebook or visit

Run Ride Dive News

Over 584 riders from 50 Gauteng schools competed in the first event of the Gauteng Spur High School MTB Series presented by Anatomic.

Menlopark High School is top of the log going into the second Spur Schools Mountain Bike League race at FH Odendaal High on Saturday, 25 July. Having logged an impressive, 364 points at the first Gauteng regional event they are confident that they will manage to hold onto their lead spot. Zwartkop High is in second with 223 points, Waterkloof High School in third with 190 points followed by Garsfontein High School in a close fourth with 189 points.

The day was earmarked by exciting racing with strong competition in both the junior women’s and men’s categories. Rivals Lynette Benson from Waterkloof and Saffron Vosloo from Menlopark matched each other’s pace throughout the race, but in the end Lynette pulled ahead and crossed the line seconds ahead with a huge smile on her face.
The Junior Men’s race gave the crowd another exciting sprint finish between three Menlopark riders and one Centurion HS rider. Throughout the 4 laps, Martien Venter, Henry Liebenberg, Wessel Botha (Menlopark) and Anthony Rennie (Centurion) paced together creating a small gap of around a minute from the strong chasing bunch. However, Martien Venter had his fellow Menlo team mates looking over his shoulder, but Martien kept his pace and beat Henry at the line by just one second for the win!

Special Anatomic leader jerseys were handed out to the first placed boys and girls in each category and they will be wearing them with pride at the next event as Gauteng Series leaders:
• Sub Junior Boys – Hennie van Wyk (Garsfontein HS)
• Sub Junior Girls – Monique du Toit (Menlopark HS)
• Youth 15 Boys – Chris du Plessis (Menlopark HS)
• Youth 15 Girls – Rimari Sutten (Garsfontein HS)
• Youth 16 Boys – Nico Marais (Helpmekaar Kollege)
• Youth 16 Girls – Izelle Greve (Centurion HS)
• Junior Men – Martien Venter (Menlopark HS)
• Junior Women – Lynette Benson (Waterkloof HS)

The Spur Tour de Dal presented by Anatomic will be hosted at FH Odendaal on Saturday, 25 July. Registration starts at 07h00 and racing will be open to Gauteng schools only. Entry fee is R95 and R130 for late entries. The course opens at 07h30 for training with the first races setting off at 08h15. Online entries can be done on

Follow The Spur School MTB League on twitter at @SpurMTBleague, facebook SpurSchoolsLeague or

Leave a Reply