Match Report: FNB Pukke vs FNB Madibaz

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Pukke earn much-needed 46-18 victory over FNB Madibaz

In a match dominated by the Potchefstroom men, FNB Pukke led from start to finish as they outplayed FNB Madibaz 46-18 at the FNB Stadium on Monday afternoon.

A rainy FNB Stadium played host to the second Varsity Cup match between FNB Pukke and FNB Madibaz on Monday afternoon.

The FNB Pukke came into their clash against FNB Madibaz lying in fourth spot, well below the standards they have set themselves. FNB Madibaz have been agonisingly short on a number of occasions this season and seventh spot was not a fair reflection on their performances thus far.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

It didn’t take long for FNB Pukke to take the lead against FNB Madibaz after a brilliant try by centre Sylvian Mahuza in the fourth minute, as he broke away down the right wing to score a nine-point try.

Just a few minutes later it wasn’t looking good for FNB Madibaz as Rhyno Smith broke through to slip in Jaco Jordaan, who scored a seven-point try under the posts after just nine minutes. Rhyno Smith converted to make it 18-0 to FNB Pukke.

FNB Madibaz managed to hold off the FNB Pukke attack and kept the scores at 18-0 after 20 minutes. But FNB Madibaz conceded a penalty try in 22 minute and an easy conversion made it 25-0.

Finally, on the 30-minute mark, FNB Madibaz hit back when they drove over for a try. It was converted and scores remained 25-7 going into half time.

Just five minutes into the second half Benhard Janse van Rensburg broke the line after an opportunistic quick tap to score a nine-point try. It was converted to take scores to 36-7.

FNB Madibaz kept fighting and were rewarded after Warren Swart dotted down for a nine-point try between the posts. The scores 36-18 after the conversion.

Another two tries were scored by the FNB Pukke, the score ending FNB Pukke 46-18 FNB Madibaz in an end-to-end match.
FNB Player That Rocks: Sylvian Mahuza (FNB Pukke)

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports


FNB Pukke:
Nine-point tries: Sylvian Mahuza, Benhard Janse van Rensburg

Seven-point tries: Jaco Jordaan
Five-point tries: Sylvian Mahuza, Louis van der Westhuizen, Penalty try
Cons: Rhyno Smith (3)

FNB Madibaz:
Nine-point tries: Warren Swart
Five-point tries: Henry Brown
Cons: Simon Bolze (2)


FNB Pukke: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Elden Schoeman, 13 Sylvian Mahuza, 12 Johan Deysel, 11 Dean Stokes, 10 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 9 Kurshwill Williams, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Jeandre Rudolph, 6 Jaco Jordaan, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 Bartholomeus Le Roux, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Johan Smith

Replacements: 16 Louis Van der Westhuizen, 17 Mashudu Mafela, 18 Daniel Jordaan, 19 Christiaan Liebenberg, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Nkululeko Mcuma, 22 Ryno Wepener, 23 Mogau Mabokela

FNB Madibaz: 15 Keanu Vers, 14 Ivon-John du Preez, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Riaan Esterhuizen, 11 Yamkela Yamkela, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Ivan Ludick, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Kevin Kaba, 6 Henry Brown, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Warrick Venter, 1 Ronald Beyl

Replacements: 16 Jean-Pierre Jamieson, 17 Marzuk Maarman, 18 Elandre van der Merwe, 19 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 20 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 21 Thomas Kean, 22 Warren Swart, 23 Nemo Roelofse

Leave a Reply