The PHL is back in November

Run Ride Dive News

#PHL17 kicks off in November

Gladiators and Daisies remain dedicated to SA u21 squad development

Old Mutual iWYZE extend support for SA Hockey junior HP structures

The highly anticipated second running of the Premier Hockey League by South African Hockey is fast approaching, with the first push back of #PHL17 taking place on Saturday 25 November.

Following the same principles as last years teams; 10 of the 12 playing squads will comprise the very best players in South Africa with the 2016 squads augmented by additional Marquee Players and a revised draft process. In line with SA Hockey’s high performance pipeline strategy the two remaining franchise teams will be dedicated for the SA men’s and women’s u21 national squads.  The 10 other #PHL17 teams (five men’s and five women’s) will be finalised via a unique player draft that will take place on the 20th October in Johannesburg.

Prior to the launch of #PHL16 last year, Marissa Langeni, the CEO of SAHA,

stated that “If the u21 team experiment proves a success then we may make these age group national teams a permanent fixture in future PHLs”. With the success of their inclusion in the tournament and specifically the u21 Men’s success at the FIH Junior World Cup post #PHL16, it’s no wonder that it has been agreed to make this a permanent part in u21 preparations for future international campaigns. The men’s u21 team will once again play as the Golden Gate Gladiators and the women’s u21 team will remain the Namaqualand Daisies. Attached are the recently announced National u21 Hockey Squads for Men and Women.

In further exciting news, Old Mutual iWYZE, the sponsors of the iWYZE Hockey Nationals for junior teams have agreed to sponsor both the Gladiators and the Daisies in #PHL17. Says Presodhini Naicker, Old Mutual iWYZE Head of Marketing & Brand, “Our sponsorship of the Gladiators and the Daisies further extends iWYZE commitment to the high performance process currently taking place in the junior ranks of South African Hockey. We are now involved in the game from u13 Boys and Girls Hockey Nationals through to the u21 National squads, a key area of the #SAHockeyRevolution strategy being followed by SA Hockey Association.”

Tyson Dlungwana, a member of the 2016 Gladiators and national u21 squad member said “Its wonderful to be back in the Gladiators squad for #PHL17. Last year was an incredible opportunity for us as young players and I have no doubt that the new generation of u21 players joining us this year will gain enormously from the experience.” Included in the Men’s u21 squad is Western Cape schoolboy Dayaan Cassiem who proved during the recent FIH Hockey World League in Johannesburg that he is a global superstar in the making.

Amongst an enlarged ladies squad of 42 players are a number of schoolgirls including 17 year old Dani Rhodes, daughter of Proteas cricketer and former hockey player Jonty Rhodes and Ongi Mali whose progress as the youngest of the 2016 national u21 squad augurs well for her future in South African and world hockey.


This year again promises to give South African hockey fans fast and furious hockey action from the best male and female players in the country! #PHL17 will be broadcast live on SuperSport so please look out for the final match and broadcast schedules which will be published in the coming weeks.


South African U21 Ladies Squad South African U21 Men’s Squad
Name Province Name Province
1 Mishka Ellis Boland 1 Muzzamil Sheik Eastern Province
2 Moya Smith Boland 2 William Eveleigh Boland
3 Sisipho Magwaza Southern Gauteng 3 Duncan Fischer Southern Gauteng
4 Marine Kock North West 4 Tim Kirkman KZN Raiders
5 Cheree Greyvenstein KZN Raiders 5 Chris Rhode Western Province
6 Thati Segaole Northern Blues 6 Andrew Hobson Western Province
7 Sare Laubsher Free State 7 Tyson Dlungwana Southern Gauteng
8 Edith Molikoe Eastern Province 8 Courtney Halle Southern Gauteng
9 Ongeziwe Mali Eastern Province 9 Jared Cass KZN Raiders
10 Kirsty Adams Boland 10 Jacki Mohlaba Western Province
11 Bianca Wood Border 11 Dillon Langeveld Eastern Province
12 Sonika Elizabeth van Heerden Free State 12 Franco Carstens Western Province
13 Julia Flemming Southern Gauteng 13 Andile Ndlovu KZN Inlands
14 Simoné Gouws Free State 14 Rusten Abrahams Southern Gauteng
15 Monique Baartsch Boland 15 Sam Mvimbi South West District
16 Daniela Rhodes KZN Inlands 16 Connor Beauchamp Western Province
17 Mia Barnard Free State 17 Chris Makaba Southern Gauteng
18 Mmamoagi Kungoana Southern Gauteng 18 Ross Campbell Western Province
19 Francisca Darkoh Border 19 Mark Chong Northern Blues
20 Hannah Pearce Southern Gauteng 20 Matthew Roman Western Province
21 Sandisiwe Tabata Western Province 21 Dayaan Cassiem Western Province
22 Jamie Southgate Western Province 22 Luke Schooling Western Province
23 Teegan Fourie KZN Raiders 23 Che February Southern Gauteng
24 Casey-Jean Botha Free State 24 Spencer Botes Southern Gauteng
25 Courtney Du Preez North West 25 Laython Coombs Eastern Province
26 Charne Maddocks North West 26 Max Pike Western Province
27 Thando Chiti Northern Blues 27 Matthew Davies Northern Blues
28 Minke van Heerden Western Province 28 Jesse Martin Southern Gauteng
29 Stephanie Botha Western Province 29 Brad Sherwood KZN Inlands
30 Francious Caarstens Western Province 30 Michael Forrest Northern Blues
31 Lezan Jacobs Free State 31 Ross Vides Eastern Province
32 Kelsey Minaar Eastern Province 32 Winray Christoffels Free State
33 Lezaan Janse van Vuuren Southern Gauteng 33 Lungani Gabela KZN Raiders
34 Meeghan Klomp North West 34 Mbuso Mgobozi Western Province
35 Pollert Mashua Western Province
36 Nomnikelo Veto Southern Gauteng
37 Lida Kotze Western Province
38 Shindré-Lee Simmons Free State
39 Miché Bennett Western Province
40 Ashleigh Datnow Southern Gauteng
41 Kristen Paton Southern Gauteng
42 Nthabi Maine Southern Gauteng
Run Ride Dive News

Leave a Reply