MTN-Qhubeka riders for 102nd Le Tour de France

Run Ride Dive News

Making History: MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung presents Tour de France team

9 riders selected for first-ever African team to ride the Grand Boucle

Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung is delighted to announce the final nine man team that will make history as the first African team to participate in Le Tour de France.

Starting on 4 July these nine riders will represent the African continent on cycling’s most global stage, with the objective of driving our #BicyclesChangeLives campaign so that we can mobilise 5000 kids in Africa with bicycles this July.

Our long list of 11 riders was announced on 2 June. In the two weeks since this initial announcement, we saw the magnificent performance of our African team at the Criterium du Dauphine. It was the performance at the Dauphine that gave our management team the final confirmation to select our Le Tour team.
We are delighted to select two Eritrean riders, the first men ever from the country, to take part in the Tour de France. In all likelihood, Merhawi Kudus will also be the youngest rider in the race, while Daniel Teklehaimanot will start the Grande Boucle fresh off winning our team’s first-ever World Tour leaders jersey at the recent Criterium du Dauphine.
There will be three South African riders making their Tour de France debut: the African champion, Louis Meintjes, South African champion, Jacques Janse van Rensburg, and Reinardt Janse van Rensburg.
Edvald Boasson Hagen brings a wealth of experience, having been a part of two previous Tour de France winning teams. Tyler Farrar has won stages in all three Grand Tours previously; Steve Cummings brings incredible time trial strength and the ever aggressive Serge Pauwels will compliment our 5 African riders, completing our African team for the 102nd Tour de France. Natnael Berhane and Youcef Reguigi will be the two reserve riders for the team.

MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung riders for 102nd Le Tour de France
Edvald Boasson Hagen
Steve Cummings
Tyler Farrar
Jacques Janse van Rensburg
Reinardt Janse van Rensburg
Merhawi Kudus
Louis Meintjes
Serge Pauwels
Daniel Teklehaimanot

Leave a Reply