Match Report: FNB Maties vs FNB UCT-Ikeys

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports
WILHELM VAN DER SLUYS from Maties during Varsity Cup Rugby FNB Maties v FNB UCT Stadium on March 14, 2016 in SOWETO, South Africa © Christiaan Kotze / SASPA

FNB Maties demolish FNB UCT 60-13 in derby clash

The FNB Maties showcased their dominance in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup presented Steinhoff International once again when they trashed arch rivals, FNB UCT 60-13 at a wet FNB Stadium on Monday night.

FNB Maties crossed the line seven times, two of them 9-point tries as they went on a rampage.

FNB Maties led 28-6 at the break, thanks to tries from Duncan Saal, Edwil van der Merwe and two from prop, John-Roy Jenkison. FNB Maties’ forwards showed their worth yet again in this year’s tournament as they dominated upfront and put the FNB Ikeys scrum under immense pressure.

The second half was more of the same as fullback Craig Barry and winger Edwill van der Merwe both ran the length of the field for 9-point tries to run away with the result. Eighth man, Kobus van Dyk also got on the score sheet before Luke Stringer scored a consolation try for the Ikeys.
The FNB Maties just too strong for FNB UCT, winning the match 60-13.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Player that Rocks: John-Roy Jenkinson (FNB Maties)


FNB Maties:

Five-point tries: John-Roy Jenkinson, Edwill van der Merwe, Duncan Saal, Kobus van Dyk,

Seven-point tries: John-Roy Jenkinson

Nine-point tries: Craig Barry, Edwill van der Merwe

Cons: Ernst Stapelberg (4), Chris Smith (2)

Pens: Ernst Stapelberg


Five-point tries: Luke Stringer

Cons: Appiah Kofi

Pens: Tom Bednall (2)

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Maties: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Paul Streicher, 12 Braam Venter, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Kobus van Wyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Beyers de Villiers, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Niel Oelofse
Replacements: 16 Craig Corbett, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Johan Momsen, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Geor Malan, 21 Christopher Smith, 22 Jason Worral, 23 JE van der Merwe
FNB UCT: 15 Joel Smith, 14 Nathan Nel, 13 Lihleli Xoli, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Suwilanji Chibale, 10 Finn Bednall, 9 Dylan-Lee Tidbury, 8 Guy Alexander, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klassen, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Jade Kriel, 3 David Maasch, 2 Brenton Greaves, 1 Joel Carew

Replacements: 16 Sean Paterson, 17 Msizi Zondi, 18 Mark Prior, 19 Duncan Saffy, 20 Stephen Wallace, 21 Rob Anderson, 22 SuwKofi Appiah, 23 Samuel Shaer-Theron

Photos: © Christiaan Kotze / SASPA

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply