Lions appoint Swys de Bruin as Head Coach

Run Ride Dive Rugby
Kwagga Smith Lions Kings Super Rugby 2017

The Lions Rugby Company is proud to announce the appointment of Swys de Bruin as Head Coach and retainment of key players.

Swys de Bruin has been appointed as Head Coach of the Lions Rugby Company. De Bruin replaces Johan Ackermann after the Emirates Lions campaign in this years’ Super Rugby draws to a close. Rudolf Straeuli, CEO of Lions Rugby (Pty) Ltd, said: “The Company is pleased to announce that De Bruin has put pen to paper for the position of Head Coach at the Lions.

“We believe it will bring continuity and stability within the different teams in the various competitions that we are taking part in.”

De Bruin is thankful for the opportunity given to him to extend his relationship with the Lions. “I am thankful for the trust the board of directors put in me and look forward to the challenge. For now we are still totally focused on our campaign in the 2017 Super Rugby season.”

Key players have also agreed to terms ensuring the sustainability and growth within the Franchise. The following senior players will remain at the Franchise ensuring limited loss and player movement within the Emirates Lions:

Warren Whiteley

Albertus Smith

Andries Coetzee

Andries Ferreira (renewed)

Anthony Volminck

Aphiwe Dyantyi

Corné Fourie

Courtnall Skosan (renewed)

Cyle Brink

Dillon Smit (renewed)

Dylan Smith

Elton Jantjies

Franco Mostert

Harold Vorster

Howard Mnisi

Jaco Kriel

Jaco van der Walt (renewed)

Jacques van Rooyen (renewed)

Johannes Jonker

Justin Ackerman (renewed)

Lionel Mapoe (renewed)

Lourens Erasmus

Malcolm Marx (renewed)

Marvin Orie

Robbie Coetzee

Rohan Janse van Rensburg

Ross Cronjé

Ruan Ackermann

Ruan Combrinck

Ruan Dreyer

Shaun Reynolds

Sthi Sithole

Sylvian Mahuza (renewed)


The Lions Rugby Company will announce their Junior Procurement in due course.

Run Ride Dive Rugby


Leave a Reply