Junior Springboks stamp their authority on the Varsity Cup Dream Team

Run Ride Dive Rugby

Rugby: Varsity Cup

The Varsity Cup Dream Team suffered a 19-50 loss to the Junior Springboks at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch after trailing 19-21 at halftime on Tuesday, 25 April 2017.

The Junior Springboks opened the try-scoring when lock Ruben van Heerden crashed over to build the platform for a first half of tries scored by the Junior Springbok lock pairing.

Van Heerden’s try would only serve to galvanise the Varsity Cup Dream Team into first, second and third gear as they bamboozled their way over the line twice in quick succession. FNB Maties winger Duncan Saal pulled back a try for the home team as he collected a deflected pass to run in untouched after only nine minutes.

Run Ride Dive Rugby

His fellow winger Sibahle Maxwane (FNB Tuks) showed immense strength down the right hand touchline as he bumped off a few tackles to put fullback Craig Barry (FNB Maties) into space to score and give the students a 12-7 lead. FNB Pukke lock, Loftus Morrison, powered over for a try of his own which flyhalf Tinus de Beer (FNB Tuks) converted to give the Varsity Cup a healthy 19-7 lead.

A yellow card to prop Carlu Sadie did not prevent the Junior Springboks from flexing their muscles as Salmaan Moerat was on hand to receive a cheeky backhand pass from scrumhalf Embrose Papier to score. Van Heerden was on hand moments later to score his second of the night and allow his team to level the scores with fullback Gianni Lombard’s kick pushing the visitors in front with halftime looming.

The Junior Springboks came out of the tunnel after halftime with all cylinders firing as flank Muller Uys scored the visitors’ fourth try. Lombard missed the conversion but added a penalty goal in the 56th minute to extend the Junior Springboks’ lead.

The Junior Springboks continued to find their attacking rhythm as the second half progressed with Stormers flyhalf Damian Willemse exploiting a gap to score close to the uprights soon after replacement hooker Johannes Snyman (FNB UJ) was given his marching orders.

The Junior Springboks were relentless in attack and ran in waves that left the home team’s defence in tatters. Replacement loose forward Nama Xaba crossed for try number six as the visitors started to put daylight between the two teams. Centre Manie Libbok added yet another try minutes later as he sliced straight through the Varsity Cup Dream Team’s defensive line to score. Lombard’s conversion brought the score to 19-50 with his kick proving to be the final points of the match.

Run Ride Dive Rugby

FNB Player that Rocks: Damian Willemse (Junior Springboks)


Varsity Cup Dream Team: 19
Tries: Duncan Saal, Craig Barry, Loftus Morrison
Cons: Tinus de Beer (2)
Yellow cards: Johannes Snyman
Junior Springboks: 50
Tries: Ruben van Heerden (2), Salmaan Moerat, Muller Uys, Damian Willemse, Nama Xaba, Manie Libbok
Cons: Gianni Lombard (6)
Pen: Lombard
Yellow cards: Carlu Sadie

Varsity Cup Dream Team:
15. Craig Barry (FNB Maties – c), 14. Sibahle Maxwane (FNB UP-Tuks), 13. Aphiwe Dyantyi (FNB UJ), 12. Impi Visser (FNB UP-Tuks), 11. Duncan Saal (FNB Maties), 10. Tinus de Beer (FNB UP-Tuks), 9. Andre Warner (FNB UP-Tuks), 8. Kevin Kaba (FNB Madibaz), 7. Phumzile Maqondwana (FNB Shimlas), 6. Daniël Maartens (FNB Shimlas), 5. Loftus Morrison (FNB NWU-Pukke), 4. Aston Fortuin (FNB UP-Tuks), 3. Nico Du Plessis (FNB UJ), 2. Wilmar Arnoldi (NWU-Pukke), 1. Andrew Beerwinkel (FNB UP-Tuks).

Replacements: 16. Johannes Snyman (FNB UJ), 17. Luvuyo Pupuma (FNB Wits), 18. Dillon Roy Bakos (FNB UJ), 19. Johan Momsen (FNB Maties), 20. Chris Massyn (FNB UP-Tuks), 21. Herschel Jantjies (FNB UWC), 22. Aidynn Cupido (FNB UWC), 23. Ernst Stapelberg (FNB Maties)

Run Ride Dive Rugby

Junior Springboks: 15. Gianni Lombard, 14. Manie Libbok, 13. Stedman Gans, 12. Wayne van der Bank, 11. Wandisile Simelane, 10. Damian Willemse, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Len Massyn, 7. Muller Uys, 6. Zain Davids (c), 5. Ruben van Heerden, 4. Salmaan Moerat, 3. Carlu Sadie, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Kwenzo Blose.

Replacements: 16. PJ Botha, 17. Gerhard Steenekamp, 18. Wikus Groenewald, 19. Hendre Stassen, 20. Nama Xaba, 21. Hacjivah Dayimani, 22 Rewan Kruger, 23. Jean-Luc Cilliers

Run Ride Dive Rugby

Leave a Reply