FNB UJ put Ikey tigers to the sword

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Varsity Cup

FNB UJ too much for FNB UCT

An impressive attacking display from FNB UJ saw the FNB IKey Tigers’ hopes of finishing in a top-four spot slip further away with only two fixtures remaining before the semi-finals. The match ended 40-12 in favour of FNB UJ.

The match was quite even for the first quarter of the game, with Aphiwe Dyantyi providing the first few sparks as he embarked on a dangerous run down the left side of the field. The teams went into the first strat break on equal terms, but it was FNB UJ who drew first blood as Johan Esterhuizen crossed the line. The try was converted, and FNB UJ went on to spread the ball wide after a period of pressure, allowing Curtley Adams to cross the line unchallenged. The try was converted, giving FNB UJ an 18-0 lead over FNB UCT at halftime.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

The FNB Ikey Tigers came out in the second half determined to make up the gap in points, scoring a seven-point try through Gerard Pieterse. It wasn’t long before Johannes Snyman extended FNB UJ’s lead, with de Villiers crossing the line again seven minutes afterwards, extending their lead to 28-7.

There was a period of ten minutes when FNB UJ were reduced to ten men and Rayno Mapoe found some space on the right win, but besides that, FNB UJ were as clinical in defence as they were in attack.

Nel then scored a penalty kick for FNB UJ, giving them a 19-point lead. The home team didn’t give up though, scoring again through Seb Roodt down the left wing. After that it was all FNB UJ in the late stages of the game, and a sweeping move in the final minute of the game saw Ramaboea score a seven-point try. After Nel converted, the game ended 40-12 to FNB UJ.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Player That Rocks: Aphiwe Dyantyi (FNB UJ)


Gerard Pieterse (seven-pointer), Seb Roodt

Yellow Cards: Jason Klaasen

FNB UJ: 40
Johan Esterhuizen, Curtley Adams (seven-pointer), Jo-Hanco de Villiers, Godfrey Ramaboea (seven-pointer)
Conversions: Divan Nel (4)
Penalties: Divan Nel
Yellow Cards: Godfrey Ramaboea


The FNB Ikey Tigers starting XV: 1 Wayrin Losper, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 4 Duncan Saffy, 5 Gary Porter, 6 Jason Klaasen (C), 7 Kuyenzeka Xaba, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 10 Rob Anderson, 11 Seb Roodt, 12 Hendrik Lategan, 13 Joel Smith, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 15 Gerard Pieterse.

Substitutions: 16 Martin Chandler, 17 William Day, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazebuko, 19 Luke Stringer, 20 Sanele Malwane, 21 Michael Henning, 22 jez Macintyre, 23 Suwi Chibale.

FNB UJ starting XV: 1 Brendon Weideman, 2 Johannes Snyman, 3 Nico du Plessis, 4 Kevin du Randt, 5 Adriaan Bester, 6 Gavin Delport, 7 Wian Conradie, 8 Jo-Hanco de Villiers, 9 Johan Esterhuizen, 10 Divan Nel, 11 Godfrey Ramaboea, 12 Jaco Fourie, 13 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 14 Ronald Brown, 15 Curtley Adams.

Replacements: 16 Baard Le Roux, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Chergin Fillies, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Willem Massyn, 21 Devon Mare, 22 Carlisle Jordaan, Peter-John Walters.

images Halden Krog/SASPA

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply