FNB UJ earn a hard fought first win against FNB CUT

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

In a great match between FNB UJ and FNB CUT at the University of Johannesburg Stadium, fans came out in their numbers to hand the home side leverage over a stubborn FNB CUT side as FNB UJ won 48-21.

It was a nervy start from the Orange Army as FNB CUT made their intensions clear. They applied great pressure, making sure that they don’t play in their own half. Heinrich Bitzi had a great kicking game, managing to expose a lot space in the FNB UJ half.

FNB CUT kicked a great penalty to put the Free State side ahead. Bitzi from FNB CUT had another opportunity to make it 0-6 but that wasn’t the case. With FNB CUT not taking their chances, FNB UJ made a break through the captain, Snyman, intercepting a pass from FNB CUT to score the first try for FNB UJ. The fans were soon celebrating Snyman’s exceptional pace.

Overall it was a fairly contested and a real joy to watch. There were great moments from both teams – Heinrich Bitzi’s boot, Johannes Snyman’s pace – it was end-to-end stuff.

Just before the end of first half FNB CUT received a yellow card, also missing an easy try through Heinrich Bitzi, and one could feel the momentum shifting. Jean-Luc Cilliers became clinical in front of the poles, the passing was smooth developing great combinations amongst the team.

In the second half FNB UJ came back guns blazing, aiming to win it for the fans. Mpofu Malembe showed great tenacity to cut through the FNB CUT defence and score an amazing solo try. With the spirits high, Ruan Brown registered another try to put the match out of reach, thanks to Jean-Luc Cilliers with the golden boot. Towards the end FNB UJ looked relaxed and steady, to seal the game 48-21.

FNB Player That Rocks: Jannes Snyman (FNB UJ)

FNB UJ: 48
Tries: Johannes Snyman, Mpofu Malembe, Ruan Brown, Thian Bradley, Jaco Fourie and Kiewit Cohen
Cons: Jean-Luc Cilliers (6)
Pens: Jean-Luc Cilliers

: Ruan Smit
: Heinrich Bitzi (3)

15 Ronald Brown, 14 Tryreeq February, 13 Jan-Louis La Grange, 12 Jaco Fourie, 11 Tatendaishe Mujawo, 10 Jeanluc Cilliers, 09 Bradley Thain, 08 Wian Conradie, 07 Adrian Bester, 06 James Venter, 05 Estian Enslin, 04 Malembe Mpofu, 03 Nico Du Plessis, 02 Johannes Snyman, 01 Sibusiso Lali
16 Hendrik van Schoor, 17 Bakos Dillion, 18 Landsberg Darrien-Lane, 19 Siyabonga Luwaca, 20 Johan Esterhuizen, 21 Austin Davids, 22 Van der Schyff Louis, 23 Cohen Kiewit

FNB CUT: 15 Dimitrio Tieties, 14 Toolo Mosego, 13 Rasmus Breedt, 12 Heinrich Bitzi, 11 Dean Jacobs, 10 Denver Klue, 09 Ruben De Haas, 08 Gerhardus Nel, 07 Rayno Nel, 06 Ruan Smit, 05 Brendon Fortuin, 04 Sylvester Makakole, 03 Stefan Van Schalkwyk, 02 Tiaan Erasmus, 01 Quintin Vorster
16 Johannes Terblanche, 17 Raynard Esterhuizen, 18 LW Viljoen, 19 Isaih Bila, 20 Ame Van Resnburg, 21 Tisetso Madondela, 22 Massage Nkosi, 23 Johannes LP Heymans

Leave a Reply