FNB Shimlas vs FNB Madibaz

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Shimlas remained unbeaten after hosting FNB Madibaz

FNB Shimlas beat FNB Madibaz 46-19 at Xerox Shimla Park in their first home game of the season. The defending champions put on a strong display for the home fans, running in six tries in difficult circumstances.

It took FNB Shimlas just three minutes to open their account with a great seven-point try. FNB Shimlas’ fullback, Marco Manson, ran a brilliant line to put centre, Stefan JV Rensburg, away for the unconverted try. FNB Madibaz responded immediately through their forwards, with the eighthman, Kevin Kaba, scoring a seven point try just a minute later. The missed conversion meant the scores were level after five minutes.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Shimlas used the kickoff to pin FNB Madibaz back into their own 22. The home side managed to regain possession and some quick hands led to Manson contributing again with a five-point try in the eight minute of the first half. The score meant 19 points had been scored in the opening 10 minutes of play as FNB Shimlas led, 12-7.

During the first strategy break of the match, a group of protestors occupied the pitch, momentarily bringing the game to a close. Once the protestors had left the field, players were given 15 minutes to warm up before the play would resume. The break in play seemed to bring the try-scoring fest to an end, as both teams battled to regain momentum.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Look Ma I’m on TV

FNB Madibaz wasted a nine point try due to a forward pass with the a clear run to the tryline, meaning the halftime score still read 12-7 in the hosts favour. Both sides would have used the break to regain their composure for an anticipated second half.

FNB Shimlas would make an early statement just four minutes into the half, as they created space for speedster, Mosalwa Mafuma, to score a seven-point try. A conversion moments later extended their lead to 21-7.

FNB Shimlas’ bonus point try came through Renier Botha, who crossed the try line in the 56nd minute. FNB Madibaz still showed signs of a fighting spirit when they scored a converted 5-pointer four minutes later to reduce FNB Shimlas’ lead to 14. FNB Shimlas were not done yet, with their fifth try putting the game largely beyond doubt, with a commanding 37-14 lead with 12 minutes to play.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Madibaz reduced the deficit again with another five-point try, taking the score to 37-19. However, it would be their last contribution of the match, with FNB Shimlas prop, Chase Morrison, having the final say with his side’s sixth try to make the score 46-19. The score will go unchanged in the final minutes, with the final whistle sealing the score.

FNB Shimlas will be content with the bonus point win in difficult circumstances. Ultimately, the victory means FNB Shimlas will travel to Pretoria next week unbeaten after three rounds. The clash is a highly anticipated one, showcasing a repeat of last year’s final.

The game kicks-off at 19h00 and will be broadcast on SuperSport 1.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Player That Rocks: Mosolwa Mafuma (FNB Shimlas)


FNB Shimlas: Tries: Stefan JV Rensburg, Marco Mason, Mosolwa Mafuma, Renier Botha , Arthur Williams, Chase Morrison

Cons: Marco Mason (4),

FNB Madibaz: Tries: Kevin Kaba, Jeremy Ward, Keanu Vers
Cons: Simon Bolze
FNB Shimlas team: 15 Marco Mason, 14 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 13 Stephan JV Rensburg, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Mosolwa Mafuma, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Renier Botha, 8 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 7 Niel Claassen (C), 6 Musa Mahlasela, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Ntokoza Vidima, 3 Chase Morison, 2 Elandre Hugget, 1 Khanye Thabiso

Replacements: 16 Marco Klopper, 17 Teunis Nieuwoudt, 18 Nicolaas Immelman, 19 Daniel Maartens, 20 Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 21 Apiwe Dinga, 22 Renaldo Meyer, 23 Conrad Van Vuuren

FNB Madibaz team: 15 Keanu Vers; 14 Ivan-John du Preez; 13 Riaan Esterhuizen; 12 Jeremy Ward; 11 Yamkela Ngam; 10 Thomas Kean; 9 Ivan Ludick (C); 8 Kevin Kaba (VC); 7 Andisa Ntsila; 6 Henry Brown; 5 Gerrit Huisamen; 4 Tyler Paul; 3 Nicholaas Oosthuizen; 2 Warrick Venter; 1 Marzuq Maarman.

Replacements: 16 Tango Balekile; 17 Nemo Roelofse; 18 Elandre van der Merwe; 19 Hayden Tharrat; 20 Sibusiso Ngcokovane; 21 Simon Bolze; 22 Lindelwu Zungu; 23 Ronald Beyl

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply