FNB Pukke edge FNB CUT in Varsity Cup thriller

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Varsity Cup

FNB Pukke scored a deserved victory of 43-38 over FNB CUT in Bloemfontein this evening, after they led 31-10 at half time.

FNB Pukke ran in seven tries to five but the FNB Ixias fought back valiantly in the second half. FNB Pukke hooker Wilmar Arnoldi was awarded the FNB Player that Rocks award.

After last week’s performance, FNB CUT Ixias gained a lot of confidence, especially after their second half fight back. In the second half FNB CUT staged a fightback not seen recently by the Blue Brigade. Early in the second half the FNB Ixia fightback began with a great seven-point try by prop Kabous van Schalkwyk – the first of two tries by this mobile forward.

This ignited the log-trailing home side to score and run the ball with more passion at the defending Varsity Cup champs, scoring another three tries in the half. This included another seven-pointer by big lock, Kian Skippers.

FNB Ixias were rewarded for their superb play in the second half, scoring 28 points to 12.

For the home side Mosego Toolo, Van Schalkwyk, Ruan Wasserman and Ruben Heymans again performed superbly. Dean Rossouw’s warriors can certainly look forward at a much better end to their season, than their recent performances.

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

FNB Player That Rocks: Wilmar Arnoldi (FNB Pukke)


FNB Pukke: 43

Tries: Elden Schoeman, Wilmar Arnoldi, Jimmy Mpailane, Jeandre Rudolph, Boela Venter, Tapiwe Mafura and Walt Steenkamp.

Cons: Julian Delicado (4)

FNB Ixias: 38

Tries: Kabous Van Schalckwyk (2), Ruben Heymans, Dian Dry and Kian Skippers

Cons: Martin Jacobs (3)

Pens: Jacobs

FNB CUT: 15. Ruan Wasserman, 14. Toolo Mosego, 13. Gert Cronje, 12. Johan Nel (c), 11. Olwethu Ndakisa, 10. Martin Jacobs, 9. Ruben Heymans, 8. Dean Rossouw, 7. Vincent Maruping, 6. Dian Dry, 5. Brendan Verster, 4. Kian Skippers, 3. Chrisjan du Toit, 2. Henco Smit, 1. Kabous van Schalkwyk.

Replacements: 16. Stefan Jacobs, 17. Francois du Toit, 18. Kyle Ess, 19. Andre Venter, 20. Stefan Kruger, 21. Dean Jacobs, 22. Waldo Putter, 23. Sylvester Makakole

FNB NWU-Pukke starting XV: 1 Dolf van Deventer, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 3 Morné Strydom, 4 Loftus Morrison, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 6 Wandile Mazibuko, 7 Marno Redelinghuys, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 9 Chriswill September, 10 Julian Delicado, 11 Lungelo Gosa, 12 Jaap Pienaar, 13 Elden Schoeman, 14 Jimmy Mpailane, 15 Tapiwe Mafura

Reserves: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Dewald Dekker, 18 Matimu Reckson Manganyi, 19 Boela Venter, 20 Marcel Henn, 21 Caleb Louw, 22 Nkululeko Mcuma, 23 Dean Stokes

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

images Frikkie Kapp /SASPA

Run Ride Dive Varsity Sports

Leave a Reply