Flying start to Madibaz XCO Series

Run Ride Dive News

Mountainbike: Madibaz Mountain Bike XCO Series

The Madibaz Mountain Bike XCO Series made a flying start at the NMMU campus in George this weekend, with the organisers receiving double the number of entries compared to last year’s corresponding event. The cross country mountain bike race was the first of four events in the series, with the remaining legs set to take place on June 10, August 27 and October 29.

Presented by Old Mutual Private Wealth Management, the series aims to provide exposure to cross country racing for riders in the Eden region and race director Jan Venter said the opening race was an overwhelming success. “The majority of the riders were from the Eden area, but there were also entrants from Ladismith, Oudtshoorn and Cape Town,” he said.

“In total, across the various categories, we had 120 riders which is a 100 per cent increase from last year.” He added that the feedback from participants had been positive and it had been an excellent start in the promotion of cross country racing in the region. “I must say the large number of riders was unexpected but welcome,” said Venter. “There were an incredible number of young riders with lots of talent in the nippers and sprogs categories. “I have no doubt it is an indication that cross country and mountain bike racing have a great future in Eden.”


He added that there had been a strong level of competition in the age categories, saying “they left it all out on the track”. Venter said one element they would reconsider for the next leg would be to split the nippers and sprogs categories “to make for easier riding for the youngsters”. In terms of the course, he said they were happy with what had been created. “We will probably make a few minor changes to make it even better. And, of course, the next event will have a different race route with new technical surprises.”


Sport manager at the George campus, Hugo Loubser, said the series, which was also supported by Ridelife George, Giant South Africa and Tippeton, was open to everyone. “Besides promoting cross country racing in the region, we want to provide the community with healthy lifestyle options,” he added. “It is built on a drive for excellence and respect for the environment.” The third leg of the series in August will include an intervarsity section, with top university stars competing against each other. Loubser added that the series champions would be determined by adding the points from riders’ top three finishes together.

Go to for more information.

The results were:


Elite: 1 Luke Cocksedge, 2 Hendre Terblanche, 3 Kyle Symons

U23: 1 Brandon Williams, 2 Daniel du Toit

Sub-vet: 1 Nico Kruger, 2 Hannes Neethling, 3 Adrian de Jonge

Veteran: 1 Gerrie Beukes, 2 Iniel Hattingh, 3 Richard Muller

Grandmaster: 1 Roy Kruger, 2 Sam Nienaber

Junior: 1 Adriaan Venter, 2 Casper Pretorius, 3 Reinhart Marx

Youth: 1 Tristan Nortje, 2 Cwynton Collett, 3 Matthew Leppan

Sub-junior: 1 Julian Bunge, 2 Zandre Gerber, 3 Christian Hattingh

Sprog: 1 Neil Erasmus, 2 Cronje Beukes, 3 Brian Frazer-Mackenzie

Nipper: 1 Roy Frazer-Mackenzie, 2 Matthew Brink, 3 Morgan Jones


Elite: 1 Robyn de Groot, 2 Rose Bailey

U23: 1 Jean-Marie Roelofse

Sub-vet: 1 Anel Strampe, 2 Liezel Marx

Vet: 1 Marike Vreken, 2 Thea-Mari van der Sandt

Junior: 1 Amy Tait, 2 Britney Williams

Youth: 1 Charlissa Schultz, 2 Kirstin Roelofse, 3 Mia Bester

Sub-junior: 1 Sorina Venter, 2 Alissa Coetzer

Sprog: 1 Mienke Boshoff, 2 Mia Aaron, 3 Asha Tait

Nipper: 1 Gita Hildebrand, 2 Hannie Vreken, 3 Chloe Price




Run Ride Dive News


Leave a Reply