First SuperGP Champions Trophy even in W Cape

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

The all-new all-action Monster Energy SuperGP Champions Trophy makes its first appearance at Cape Town’s historic Killarney circuit on May 17 and 18 in the form of the inaugural Western Cape SuperGP with both national motorcycle SuperGP and Super600 championships already developing into tight battles for overall honours.

After rounds in the Free State (at Phakisa Freeway on March 16) and Mpumalanga (Red Star Raceway on April 27), the bold decision to restructure the national two-wheeled racing series along the lines of the FIM Superbike World Championship has not only attracted a major new series sponsor to South African circuit racing in the form of Monster Energy, but has energised the sport and seen it gain major traction among both competitors and the fans.
The cherry on the top of the eight-round series is that the final round back at Phakisa in October will form part of the penultimate round of the FIM Superbike World Championship.

All rounds follow the format of the Superbike World Championship, and the inaugural Western Cape SuperGP race meeting will feature practice and qualifying on Saturday and racing on Sunday.
The headline act is the Monster Energy SuperGP, a unique South African national championship category for 1 000 cc base-level evo rules machines with limited modifications.

The support categories include Super600, like SuperGP a national championship for base-level 600 cc evo rules bikes with less modifications than the previous Supersport category. Rounding out the menu is the new Super M, which carries challenge status and covers entries from Super600M, which is equivalent to the Supersport category for modified machines; Superbikes, the existing category for modified 1 000 cc machines; SuperMasters, for SuperGP riders aged over 35 on 1 000 cc bikes complying with the Superbikes technical regulations; and SuperTwins, which caters for 1 000 to 1 200 cc twin-cylinder modified machines.

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

Cameron Peterson Photo: Woody Rodseth

Reigning national Superbike champion Clint Seller (PS Race! Kawasaki ZX10) leads the Monster Energy SuperGP category with 75 points after scoring three consecutive wins in the first four races. Just four points behind in second place is Brent Harran (Mantella Trading Kawasaki ZX10), who won race two at Red Star and has finished on the podium three times.
Killarney favourites Lance Isaacs (third and second on his Black Swan Energy BMW S1000RR) and Ronald Slamet (third in race two on the Novel Ford/Mike Hopkins Kawasaki ZX10) will be looking to carry their good form at Red Star to their home circuit. Isaacs is third in the championship and Slamet fifth.
Stephen Odendaal (PS Race! Kawasaki ZX6RR) heads the Super600 category with 79 points after winning both races of the opening round and following up with a third and a fourth in Mpumalanga. Matthew Scholtz (Kawasaki ZX6RR) is second with 60 points after posting runner-up finishes in three of the four races. Third is Dean Vos (EmTek/Brother Yamaha R6) with 57 points after a consistent performance at Red Star saw him collect a second and a third.
Kyle Robinson (Kawasaki ZX10) is enjoying a strong run in the SuperM Challenge. He followed up back-to-back second places at Phakisa with a brace of wins at Red Star and tops the log with a commanding 90 points to second-placed Teddy Brooke’s (Brooke Refrigeration Kawasaki ZX10) 60 points. Ryan Ottens (BMW 1000) is third with 50 points.

Run Ride Dive Motorsport

Leave a Reply