Final Day MTN Tour

Run Ride Dive News

After Stage 3 of the 10th edition of the MTN Panorama Tour on Monday, the top teams were separated by a mere 16 seconds, as the decider for the win on the last day was the 36km Time Trial with a 500m ascent. The four teams gunning for the win were: Nico Bell and JP Jung for Team RECM / Bells Cycling / Midas, Greef Moolman and Franco Ferreira for Team Complete Cyclist 1, Kevin Patten and Adolph Krige for Team LifeCycles and Alan Gordon and Samuel de Swardt for Team Demacon / ALO.

It took a recording breaking ride by Nico Bell and JP Jung to leap from 4th overall to first on General Classification also winning the Men’s Category.

The Time Trial began with the slower riders giving them the opportunity to watch the pro riders work their magic and give chase.

It was not long before the leaders were flying through the finish. First in for Team RECM / Bells Cycling / Midas Nico Bell and JP Jung at 00:57:07 followed in quick succession by Greef Moolman and Franco Ferreira at 00:59:11, Kevin Patten and Adolph Krige in 01:00:18 and Alan Gordon and Samuel de Swardt in 01:00:58.

The RECM / Bells Cycling / Midas Team came today to dominate and with over three minutes gained and a course record breaking time, they have successfully claimed the General Classification win. The duo achieved this time by maintaining an average speed of 39.9km over an “anything but flat” course.

After the Time Trial, the General Classification fell as follows: Nico Bell & JP Jung taking the overall win with a total time of 09:19:37. Second overall we have Franco Ferreira and Greef Moolman for Complete Cyclist 1 with a
overall time of 09:21:41 and in 3rd place, Barend Burger and Alan Gordon for Team Demacon / ALO with 09:22:52.

Run Ride Dive News

Most of the other categories, not as fiercely contested as the General Classification, continued to lead during the Time Trial. In the Open Women’s category, the pair of Desray Sebregts and Annette Loubser from Team DESNET completed the Time Trial in 01:15:18

Stephan Oberholzer and Carla Oberholzer representing Team Clover, ended off with a bang in a time of 01:05:28, dominating the Mixed category every stage for the last four days.

A new team at the top in the Vet Category from Team Bestmed RiskSolve Rothwell Vets 1 Julien van der Pluym and Johann Naude finished in 01:02:34. Teammates, Brothers, Masters and now winners Gavin Lawson & Glenn Lawson, took down the Time Trial in 01:09:23 and the Masters category.

Johan Spies and Pierre van Hell took the Grand Masters Stage win for Team Cyclomaniacs and completed the Time Trial in 01:11:23. Time Trial Tandem winners Jay Spendley & Werner Roux of Team Lastborn & Mistake came cruising in at 01:04:46.

Run Ride Dive News

General Classification Category winners are as follows:

Open Men
Nico Bell & JP Jung for Team RECM / Bells Cycling Midas in 09:19:37
Alan Gordon & Barend Burger for Team Demacon / ALO in
Adolph Krige & Kevin Patten for Team LifeCycles in

Open Women
Desray Sebregts & Annette Loubser for Team Desnet in
Claudia Hazelwood & Carolyn Thompson for Team UFO Ladies in 11:39:59
Linda Loffer & Carol du Pont for Team Velo Chicks on Slicks in 11:41:16

Stephan Oberholzer & Carla Oberholzer for Team Clover – Mixed in 09:48:54
Francois Lourens & Yolandi du Toit for Team Garmin in
Patsy Hime & Justin Behrendt for Team Arch-Centric in

Sub Vet
Franco Ferreira & Greef Moolman for Team Complete Cyclist 1 in 09:21:41
Samuel De Swardt & Jaco Ferreira for Team Columbia Energas in 09:23:12
Eagon Campbell & Johan Deysel for Team The Manx Missiles in 09:28:54

Johann Naude & Julien van der Pluym for Team Bestmed RiskSolve Rothwell VETS 1 in 09:38:24
Stefano Madies & Tinus Scheepers for Team Dimension Data in 09:39:36
Christopher Van Rooyen & Jeandre Van Schalkwyk for Team Bestmed Risksolve Rothwell Vets Too in

Gavin Lawson & Glenn Lawson for Team Lawson Brothers in 10:12:21
Dirk Labuschagne & David Fourie for Team Bestmed RiskSolve Rothwell Masters in
Chris Verheem & Rodney Wittstock for Team Vitality Cycling p/b Club100 Team #1 in

Grand Masters
Johan Spies & Pierre van Hell for Team Cyclomaniacs in
Johnnie Koen & Alfred Scullard for Team Johnnie Koen Cycles in 12:18:08
Peter Gowans & Charles Morris for Team Gomor in

Gerhard Germishuis & Johan Moller for Team Panda in
Jay Spendley & Werner Roux for Team Lastborn & in
Carl Lotter & Meghan Brinkley for Team Vitality Cycling p/b Club100 Racing Duo in 10:07:25

The MTN Panorama Tour is officially complete and will return in April 2016.

Run Ride Dive News

Leave a Reply