2016 Spur Mountain Bike League

Run Ride Dive News


Eight years into the Spur High Schools Mountain Bike League organisers are anticipating that more than 500 Southern African schools will be represented in the 2016 season, which will run from May to October.


According to league co-ordinator, Meurant Botha of Amarider participation at local events is growing at a steady pace as schools accept mountain biking as a recognized sport – some going as far as building dedicated tracks on school grounds to encourage after school practices and interschool sports days as well as employing coaches and managers to oversee teams.


“Word on the street has it that the top teams are in full training mode in preparation for the 2016 season as competition becomes more intense year on year.  To many riders, it’s not just about hopping onto the bike anymore, but rather honing skills, upping the fitness levels and working on the mental toughness that is required to follow dreams of becoming pro riders,” says Botha.


Although there are many kids finding their competitive edge on their bicycles, the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League’s focus is still to encourage “more kids on bikes, more schools in action”.  It is important for all children to enjoy participating whether only starting out or having participated for a couple seasons.


This year has seen the introduction of Team Spur, James Reid and Ariane Kleinhans, who play the important role of encouraging League riders to follow their dreams and showing the reality of becoming sponsored athletes.  Between competing at their various competitions, they have been mingling with keen riders, sharing valuable tips from how to better skills to handling pressure and form a vital part of the Spur Schools MTB League as they set the tone as role models for the young riders.


For those new to the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League, the League is a programme focused on growing the number of children on mountain bikes by running interschool mountain biking races around the country.

The League consists of 11 South African regions including neighbouring African countries Zimbabwe, Namibia and Lesotho.  Around 60 events take place from May to the season-ending National Final in Magaliesburg in October.


The racing format takes place on a marked track, generally over school fields and dedicated trails, where riders have to complete a certain amount of laps of a course that ranges between 2km-6km.  The distance that needs to be covered is in accordance to the South African Schools Cycling Association rules and regulations.


Each region hosts four events with the exception of the Eastern Cape and Mpumalanga who each host three events in their respective regions along with a final.  With the larger regions recording over 600 participants, competition is fierce to earn the coveted selection to the National Final.

The full list of Spur MTB League dates as published.

7 May Northern Cape #1 Benfontein Northern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
21 May Gauteng #1 Phoenix High School (Vereeniging) Gauteng www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 May Northern Cape #2 Magersfontein Northern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
28 May North West #1 Rustenburg HS (Rustenburg) North West www.spurmtbleague.co.za
4 June Free State #1 TBC (Bothaville) Free State www.spurmtbleague.co.za
12 June East London #1 3 Silos Adventure Park East London www.spurmtbleague.co.za
16 June Western Cape #1 Southey Vines Cycle Park (Somerset West) Western Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
18 June Southern Cape #1 Oakhill School (Knysna) Southern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
3 July East London #2 Bayville Special School East London www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 July Gauteng #2 Bekker School (Magaliesburg) Gauteng www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 July Limpopo #1 Rooi skool (Phalaborwa) Limpopo www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 July Mpumalanga LV #1 Uplands College (Nelspruit) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 July Port Elizabeth #1 Norm-Hudlin Trails Port Elizabeth www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 July Southern Cape #2 Cairnbrogie Farm (Plett) Southern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
23 July Western Cape #2 TBC Western Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
24 July Kwazulu Natal #1 Thomas More College (Kloof) Kwazulu Natal www.spurmtbleague.co.za
30 July Free State #2 TBC (Bloemfontein) Free State www.spurmtbleague.co.za
30 July North West #2 Hartebeespoort HS North West www.spurmtbleague.co.za
6 Aug Mpumalanga LV #2 Curro (Nelspruit) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
6 Aug Port Elizabeth #2 Norm-Hudlin Trails Port Elizabeth www.spurmtbleague.co.za
13 Aug Kwazulu Natal #2 Martizburg College Kwazulu Natal www.spurmtbleague.co.za
13 Aug Limpopo #2 Stanford Lake College Limpopo www.spurmtbleague.co.za
13 Aug North West #3 Klerksdorp Show Grounds North West www.spurmtbleague.co.za
14 Aug East London #3 Seavale XCO Track East London www.spurmtbleague.co.za
20 Aug Gauteng #3 St Stithians (Sandton) Gauteng www.spurmtbleague.co.za
20 Aug Mpumalanga HV #1 Curro Bankenveld (Witbank) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
20 Aug Port Elizabeth #3 HTS Daniel Pienaar (Uitenhage) Port Elizabeth www.spurmtbleague.co.za
20 Aug Southern Cape #3 Montessori (Knysna) Southern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
27 Aug Eastern Cape #7 (Final) Hopewell Conservation Estate Port Elizabeth www.spurmtbleague.co.za
27 Aug Free State #3 TBC (Ficksburg) Free State www.spurmtbleague.co.za
27 Aug Mpumalanga LV #3 Penryn College (Nelspruit) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
27 Aug Northern Cape #3 Magersfontein (Kimberley) Northern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
27 Aug North West #4 Brits HS North West www.spurmtbleague.co.za
27 Aug Western Cape #3 HS Montana (Worcester) Western Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
3 Sept Kwazulu Natal #3 Northwood Boys High Kwazulu Natal www.spurmtbleague.co.za
3 Sept Limpopo #3 Zoological Gardens (Mokopane) Limpopo www.spurmtbleague.co.za
3 Sept Free State #4 TBC (Welkom) Free State www.spurmtbleague.co.za
10 Sept Mpumalanga HV #2 Lake Umuzi Waterfront (Secunda) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
10 Sept Southern Cape #4 Mount View (George) Southern Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
17 Sept Gauteng #4 Wonderboom HS Gauteng www.spurmtbleague.co.za
17 Sept Limpopo #4 KLF Hanglip Forest (Louis Trichardt) Limpopo www.spurmtbleague.co.za
17 Sept Mpumalanga HV #3 TBC (Ermelo) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
17 Sept Western Cape #4 Paul Roos Gymnasium (Stellenbosch) Western Cape www.spurmtbleague.co.za
24 Sept Kwazulu Natal #4 Fulton School for the Deaf (Gillitts) Kwazulu Natal www.spurmtbleague.co.za
24 Sept Mpumalanga #7 (Final) Mankele (Nelspruit) Mpumalanga www.spurmtbleague.co.za
8 Oct National Final Bekker School (Magaliesburg) Gauteng www.spurmtbleague.co.za
9 Oct National Final Bekker School (Magaliesburg) Gauteng www.spurmtbleague.co.za

Photo: Marius Nortjie

Run Ride Dive News

Leave a Reply