The Cape Town Summer Series

Run Ride Dive News

The South African Hockey Association (SAHA) has confirmed that the annual Cape Town Summer Series will see action packed men’s and women’s test match hockey taking place at Hartleyvale Stadium in Observatory, Cape Town from 20th January to 3rd February 2017.

The Cape Town Summer Series boasts the participation of international teams which will give our national men’s and women’s hockey teams the opportunity to cross sticks with Netherlands, Chile, Belgium and China.

Tickets to all matches will be available at the gate or at Webtickets. The gates will be open one hour prior to the matches and the cover charge fee will be R50 for adults, R20 for children (between the ages of 10 and 18) and children under-10 are free.

In addition to the event announcement, SAHA have also unveiled that Private Property will yet again be increasing its sponsorship of our national women’s hockey team for the third year running.

Marissa Langeni, CEO of SAHA said: “Hockey season is nearly back upon us and what better way to start things off than with a Summer Series jam packed with international hockey? The Cape Town Summer Series will also provide our national teams a platform to prepare for the Hockey World League, which is set to take place from 8th to 23rd July 2017.

“Furthermore, we are most grateful to Private Property for their continued support for the SA women’s team. We are delighted that they see the potential of our women’s hockey squad and we look forward to working with them on future projects.”

Simon Bray, CEO of Private Property said: “We are privileged and proud to be extending and increasing our sponsorship of our national women’s hockey team for the third year running. We look forward to supporting this inspiring team of ladies on their path to sporting success.

“We appreciate the fact that women play a huge role in all aspects of this country and are by far our biggest audience of property shoppers. The association with young, professional women is a great fit for Private Property.”

Be sure to get down to the astro and see some of the top teams in the world take on our teams in green and gold on the following dates and times:

Friday, 20 January 2017
Team 1 Time Pool Team 2
Chile 18:00 W South Africa
Saturday, 21 January 2017
South Africa 16:00 W China
Sunday, 22 January 2017
China 16:00 W Chile
South Africa 18:00 M Netherlands
Wednesday, 25 January 2017
China 18:00 W South Africa
South Africa 20:00 M Netherlands
Thursday, 26 January 2017
South Africa 18:00 W Chile
Belgium 20:00 M Netherlands
Saturday, 28 January 2017
China 16:00 W Chile
Sunday, 29 January 2017
Belgium 14:00 W Chile
China 16:00 W South Africa
South Africa 18:00 M Netherlands
Monday, 30 January 2017
South Africa 18:00 W Belgium
Belgium 20:00 M South Africa
Wednesday, 1 February 2017
China 18:00 W Belgium
Belgium 20:00 M South Africa
Thursday, 2 February 2017
Belgium 16:00 M South Africa
Belgium 18:00 W China
Friday, 3 February 2017
South Africa 18:00 W Belgium


A list of the selected SA men’s and women’s squads that will be taking part in the series is follows:

SA Women

Sanani Mangisa SG

Marelise van Tonder NG

Mmatshepo Modipane NG

Lisa Deetlefs SG

Kara Stella KZN C

Nicolene Terblanch NG

Jessica O’Connor KZN C

Kirsty Adams Boland

Nicole Walraven FS

Quanita  Bobbs WP

Celia Evans NG

Ilse Davids  WP

Shelley Russel SG

Jade Mayne WP

Marizen Marais SG

Stefanie Baxter SG

Sulette Damons NW

Candice Manual WP

Dirkie Chamberlain NG

Bernadette Coston SG

Lilian du Plessis SG

Kate Koening  KZN C

Tarryn Glasby  WP

Toni Marks SG

SA Men

Richard Curtis KZN C

Gowan Jones KZN C

Siya Nolutshungu  KZN C

Daniel Bell WP

Robin Jones KZN C

Gareth Heyns SG

Jethro Eustice KZN C

Andrew Hobson  WP

Mohamed Mea KZN C

Tyson Dlungwana SG

Rhett Halkett WP

Alex Stewart WP

Timothy Drummond KZN C

Ryan Julius WP

Reza Rosenberg SG

Matthew De Souza  WP

Taine Paton  KZN C

Jonty Robinson  KZN C

Owen Mvimbi SG

Keenan Horne WP

Ignatius Malgraff EP

Tevon Kok NG

Nqobile Ntuli KZN C

Brandon Panther SG

Che February WP

Dayyan Cassiem  WP

Damian Kimfley KZN C

Richard Pautz NG

Ross Hetem KZN C


For the full list of fixtures, click here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Robot Checkpoint *